Summary: Disable OpenWindows Desktop?

From: Mike Box (
Date: Wed Feb 23 2000 - 15:34:39 CST

Thanks to these that responded:
        Arthur Darren Dunham <>
        Casper Dik <>
        Satish B Movva <>
        Anthony Worrall <>
        Couprie, CF (Kees) <>

The bottom paragraph of this extensive Solaris FAQ entry covers this.

The solaris FAQ says:

3.55) How do I configure dtlogin?

    The standard CDE configuration files live in /usr/dt/config.
    You're not supposed to edit them there, but copy the files
    you want to modify to /etc/dt/config and edit them there.
    The /etc/dt directory does not exist, you must create it.

    Customizing dtgreet, the login widget, is done through
    /etc/dt/config/C/Xresources; near the end you'll find the following:

    !! To disable options in dtgreet window, uncomment the appropriate
    !! line below.

    !Dtlogin*options_noWindows*sensitive: False
    !Dtlogin*remote_host_menu*sensitive: False
    !Dtlogin*options_languages*sensitive: False
    !Dtlogin*session_menus*sensitive: False
    !Dtlogin*options_restartServer*sensitive: False

    !! To disable options under remote login option menu, uncomment the
    !! appropriate line below.

    !Dtlogin*remote_login_host*sensitive: False
    !Dtlogin*choose_login_host*sensitive: False

    By removing the ! in front of the !Dtlogin you can disable the following
    menu items, respectively:

    1) Command Line Login
    2) Remote Login
    3) Language choice
    4) Session choice
    5) Reset Login Screen
    6) Under the "Remote Login" menu, "Enter Hostname ..."
    7) Under the "Remote Login" menu, "Choose Host From List ..."

    Two undocumented options, "options_failsafe" and "options_last_dt",
    can be used to disable the Failsafe and Last Session choices, though
    the default will continue to be "Last Session".

    By commenting out the following lines by prepending them with a
    exclamation mark (!), you can disable the CDE environment login
    (and force users to use the other choices)

    Dtlogin*altDts: 1

    Dtlogin*altDtName1: Common Desktop Environment (CDE)
    Dtlogin*altDtKey1: /usr/dt/bin/dtwm
    Dtlogin*altDtStart1: /usr/dt/bin/Xsession
    Dtlogin*altDtLogo1: Dtlogo

    The OpenWindows Desktop can be disable by creating an empty
    "/etc/dt/config/C/Xresources.d/Xresources.ow" file. Other desktops
    can be added by creating files like Xresources.ow in the
    Xresources.d directory.

    --- end of excerpt from the FAQ
    The most recently posted version of the FAQ is available from

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.2 : Fri Sep 28 2001 - 23:14:03 CDT